Pollock

Screenshot (273)

Plot

Jackson Pollock (performed by Ed Harris), a painter of the 1940’s, is living with his brother and whose wife in a little appartment in New York City. His life is defined by alcoholism and occasional painting exhibitions until he meets the painter Lee Krasner (performed by Marcia Gay Harden). She starts concentraiting her whole life on Pollock, on being his friend, lover, wife and most of all his caretaker because she really believes in him and in his art. As she notices that the city life makes Pollock feeling insecure and stressed, they decide to move out of the city near the nature. While living there Jackson Pollock improves his art and gets an offer from Life magazine, so he gets more popular and exhibits for Peggy Guggenheim.Some time later he will be relapsed and his life falls into hundred of pieces.

 

Screenshot (309)

Review

A very rich film! A masterpiece!

This film you cannot really divide into criterias because it’s the whole piece that makes the impression. Everything in this one belongs to the other things and everything matchs up.
At this time, I’ve watched the movie three times. I get the really impression at the second time. I have to say that as I’ve watched it once I thought it would be a nice and good film, but not more, I had that feeling because I was a little overwhelmed by the complete work and couldn’t place it. But since the second time I’m so thrilled and incited. I can’t imagine not knowing this piece, it makes a lot in myself, but more to that at the end. I noticed what high level it is, it is a movie you can’t talk about because you are so impressed. I think it is a special one which isn’t for everyone, you have to be interested in arts, in brilliant and rich films. It isn’t comparable to any film I’ve seen before.

I think the implementation is really great. You actually feel like being in the 1940s but the thing is though you haven’t the feeling that it’s out-of-date. It feels actual although they have a different way of life I can identify with that and don’t feel like travelling in a time machine. Usually I don’t like “old” times like the 20th century but in this case it doesn’t bother me, I don’t feel like being in the times of my grandparents and their parents.

I want to say so much about the acting but I simply can’t, it is so brilliant that it makes me speechless. The few things I can say are that I really feel like understanding both, Lee and Pollock, in the situations. There is no one I favor because I don’t see a bad and a good one. Marcia Gay Harden and Ed Harris did an outstanding performance, both. I guess they are matched, together they deliver a performance you aren’t able to talk about because of its excellence, it’s breathtaking. These artists embody in such a remarkable way the extraordinary relation between Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner. You have the feeling although you see less usual known love that they are belonging to each other for real. The expression of the special love of them is great implemented. Ed Harris makes a magnificent job, his represantation of the person of Pollock is so accessible. He presents the peculiarity and the greatness of this artist in a way that it feels real. You understand the person Jackson Pollock, his love and his life because of the presentation. The most interest Pollock has in the film are his paintings, he doesn’t take a lot of his time for his wife. In spite of this you know he loves her. The saddest part is the scene when Pollock cries on his bed after Lee had gone whereas you just realize how deep his love and how enormous his inner prison was. A matchless work. Marcia Gay Harden wonderful embodies the hope and the love Lee feels for Jackson. A lot of women had separated from their husband if he would be like that but Lee didn’t. You notice how big and how deep of the heart the love of Lee to Pollock and his art is despite she says less about it. You feel it even though it is a role. I have to say I don’t like that time the film plays in neither the clothes but… Marcia Gay Harden looks so beautiful! I truly understand why she has won an academy award, her performance…outstanding! You must have seen the movie, it is unique.

It’s strange that all happens in the film happened in real. It’s a lovely, sad and inspiring story. I feel very sorry at the end, for both, it’s sad that it ends like that but that’s life. I can’t say a lot about the story because it’s true. I can’t say this is good or bad, everything really happened and I do not judge the life of other people. The only thing I can say is: I am really impressed by both characters I didn’t know anything about the two before, I’ve never heard about them, I think it’s a pity. You can learn what real love is, that relationships are hard and you have not to expect too much from your partner – it’s a real life story which is a little crazy, but aren’t all of our lives a little crazy?

Pollock, the movie, changed my inside and tought me some things. Sometimes love is hard but that someone doesn’t show you their love like you expect it doesn’t always mean he doesn’t love you. Sometimes one gives more than the other – that doesn’t mean it isn’t real love.
It’s important to not give up, Lee’s believe in Pollock shows that you shouldn’t let go in what you believe.
The film reminds me how beautiful painting is, it took me to the point that I’m interested in painting art again. Since I’m a little child I was very interested and talented in painting, I ever was. But a few years ago, I’ve lost my passion and my love for it, but now I’m very incited to do it, just do it without rules. Painting is a passion, I’ve never thought I get my feeling back but I did.
Another point is to live your life no matter what other people say. There will be people who critize you and your way of life but there are also people believing in you and only that are the ones who matter. You have to do what you really feel, maybe there are hard times, maybe a hard life but please do what you love and where your passion is, if it’s not the usual way of life do it even more.

I get inspiration on two sides, first on the acting side, they did so great and unbelievable performances which show me what is possible and what people are capable to. On the other side I’m inspired by the painting side, to do what you love and don’t follow the rules, there aren’t any. They showed me acting and painting on a level I’ve never seen.

 Even if it’s a dream, it’s still what you see, it’s life. 

 

Pollock Songs

Pollock Quotes

